anthropologically trained moles of a philosophical bent = rachel whiteread?

by

A passage from rereading Ingold’s “Materials against materiality” reminded me of the work of Rachel Whiteread (pictured below, her concrete cast of the inside of a Victorian house in East London):

House, Rachel Whiteread (1993)

House, Rachel Whiteread (1993)

“I wonder whether, if moles were endowed with imaginations as creative as those of humans, they could have a material culture. Anthropologically trained moles, of a philosophical bent, would doubtless insist that the materiality of the world is not culturally constructed but culturally excavated — not, of course, in the archaeological sense of recovering erstwhild detached, solid objects that have since become buried in the substance of the earth, but in the sense that the forms of things are hollowed out from within rather than impressed from without. In their eyes (if they could se), all that is material would reside beyond the things of culture, on the far side of their inward-facing surfaces. Thus these things could be phenomenally present in mole culture only as a material absence. — not as concrete objects but as externally bounded volumes of empty space. The very idea of material culture would then be a contradiction in terms.” (Ingold, Archaeological Dialogues 14 (1):6)

4 Responses to “anthropologically trained moles of a philosophical bent = rachel whiteread?”

  1. philosophical twist Says:

    philosophical twist…

    […]anthropologically trained moles of a philosophical bent = rachel whiteread? « thing theory[…]…

  2. Daniele Says:

    Hey there I am so delighted I found your blog page, I really
    found you by accident, while I was searching on Askjeeve for something else, Anyways I
    am here now and would just like to say kudos for a tremendous post and a all round thrilling
    blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the minute but I have saved it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the awesome work.

  3. angelina jolie sex taking lives Says:

    Because the admin of this website is working, no hesitation very quickly it will
    be renowned, due to its feature contents.

  4. el chat Says:

    Excellent pieces. Keep writing such kind of info on your site.
    Im really impressed by it.
    Hi there, You have done an excellent job. I will
    certainly digg it and in my opinion suggest to my friends.
    I am sure they will be benefited from this web site.

Leave a Reply

